Souris Lighthouse & Gift Shop
Visitors to the Souris East Lighthouse can enjoy the panoramic view of Colville Bay, Norththumberland Strait, Souris, the Îles de-la- Madeleine ferry, and, on a clear day, the Cape Breton Highlands. Inside the lighthouse is Souris by the Sea Treasures, a display of the history of sea glass, and an interpretative center with detailed history of the Lighthouse and the port of Souris.
Built in 1880, Souris East Lighthouse is a white and red square tapered wooden tower with a round lantern. The light stands 14.3 meters above the cliff on Knight Point overlooking the town of Souris. The Souris East Lighthouse has always been the symbol of the town and area. An atached dwelling was removed in 1959, and the light was changed to electricity in 1961. In 1991, Frank McIntosh, the last lighthouse keeper on PEI, retired from the Souris East Light.
After touring Souris Lighthouse with it’s breathtaking view of Souris Harbour and history of sea glass, come browse through our “treasure trove” of sea glass, woodwork, fused glass, artwork, books, T-shirts, souvenirs, and much more. Take a bit of Prince Edward Island Home
GPS: N 46° 20.45 W 62° 14.53.2